EnTete_Aviesan_edited.jpg
Logo_PlanCancer.png
LogoNano.png

What is the NANOTUMOR Consortium?

Check out our review in Biology of the Cell Journal!

 

 

 

Aviesan Federative Program (PFA) - Towards the Tumor Cell Atlas

A research program coordinated by Jacky G. Goetz (U1109 - Strasbourg) and Patrick Schultz (IGBMC - Illkirch)

This consortium is composed of 13 teams, working on four axes:

Axis 1: Molecular and structural description of multiprotein complexes initiating the oncogenic process - A. Hamiche & P. Schultz

Axis 2: Establishment of a subcellular morphological atlas during carcinogenesis: From organelles to molecular networks that drive cancer - K. Schauer & V. Hyenne

Axis 3: Biosensors, protein and chemical inhibitors - P. Martineau & M. Tramier

Axis 4In vivo integration of targetable candidate protein complexes in patient samples - J.-P. Borg & L. Camoin

NANOTUMOR
RECHERCHE CONTRE LE CANCER

Identifier, caractériser et déterminer la structure de larges complexes
protéiques impliqués dans l'apparition et le développement du cancer

Fournir un atlas des cellules cancéreuses, à différentes étapes de la cascade
métastatique, de l'initiation de la tumeur à la formation de métastases

À PROPOS DU CONSORTIUM

Le consortium NANOTUMOR est groupe de travail multidisciplinaire français qui vise à étudier l'initiation et la progression du cancer au niveau moléculaire et ultrastructural, en combinant des technologies et des expertises de pointe en imagerie 2D-3D par miscroscopie électronique ou en fluorescence, de la transcriptomique et spectrométrie de masse, de la micro-modélisation (micropatterning) ainsi que des approches de microfluidique/biomécanique dans divers modèles cellulaires et animaux, de l'ingénierie des anticorps/biomarqueurs et du criblage à haut débit. Il explore les caractéristiques de plusieurs cancers de l'enfant et de l'adulte, depuis la structure des complexes moléculaires, l'expression spatio-temporelle des gènes et des protéines, jusqu'à l'organisation subcellulaire, la morphologie/rhéologie des tissus, et enfin la conception et le criblage des médicaments.

ParticipantV2_edited.jpg

Il combine les outils et les expertises de 13 équipes réparties sur 7 sites en France. Nos objectifs sont d'établir des liens stables entre les membres du consortium, d'obtenir des résultats scientifiques clés fruits de cette collaboration, de créer et de consolider les infrastructures existantes, et d'avoir une stratégie de collecte de fonds et de communication pour consolider le consortium et attirer de nouveaux membres potentiels.

Slide2.PNG
Slide1.PNG

CONTEXTUALISATION

L'organisation cellulaire et la morphologie des organelles est notamment le fruit de l'expression protéique de chaque cellule, expression elle-même sous le contrôle de programmes génétiques et épigénétiques variables en fonction des types cellulaires. Cette "ultrastructure" cellulaire peut être affectée par des changements métaboliques ou pathologiques et nous informe donc sur l'état physiopathologique de la cellule. Le décryptage des liens entre la morphologie et les maladies pourrait aider à établir des diagnostics et déterminer l'avancement / le stade d'un grand nombre de maladies humaines, et notamment en cancérologie (Rozenblatt-Rosen et al., 2020). Le lien entre une ou plusieurs mutations ponctuelles identifiées chez un patient et le défaut cellulaire réel n'est souvent pas simple, car les cellules sont des systèmes complexes dans lesquels l'altération d'un ou plusieurs composants peut avoir des effets distaux, antagonistes ou synergiques difficiles à prévoir. Ainsi, il semble adéquat d'orienter les stratégies thérapeutiques de sorte qu'elles n'aient pas pour objectif le remplacement de la fonction exacte de ou des protéines altérées, mais de remédier aux effets plus généraux en aval qui peuvent être révélés par la morphologie cellulaire. Par conséquent, disposer d'un atlas des paramètres de morphologies cellulaires normales et pathologiques pourrait permettre d'orienter les chercheurs et cliniciens dans leurs efforts de recherche et de traitement du cancer.

L'un des principaux objectifs du Consortium Nanotumor est donc de construire une première version d'ATLAS des cellules cancéreuses, à différentes étapes de la cascade des métastases, de l'initiation de la tumeur à la formation des métastases. Nous avons l'ambition de caractériser les processus cellulaires des tumeurs et les organelles à haute résolution. L'espace intracellulaire est occupé par de nombreuses organelles qui assurent d'importantes fonctions, et qui sont l'objet d'une dynamique de remodelage constant. En plus d'être responsables du comportement viscoélastique des cellules (Pu et al., 2016), ces organelles sont elles-mêmes soumises à des stress mécaniques extrêmes (par exemple des forces de compression ou de tension) notamment lorsqu'elles sont parties intégrantes de cellules tumorales (van Bergeijk et al., 2016). Une évaluation minutieuse de l'effet des forces mécaniques sur les organelles au cours des différentes étapes métastatiques est cruciale et permettrait de comprendre leurs effets sur les fonctions des organelles, et permettrait par ailleurs l'identification des organelles et éléments du cytosquelette responsables des différences de comportement rhéologiques. La clé de ce projet est donc de faire la lumière sur les altérations des organelles intracellulaires au cours de l'oncogenèse et de les utiliser pour délimiter les mécanismes de base de la tumorigénèse. Notre objectif est également d'établir une stratégie dite "top-down" pour identifier et caractériser les réseaux / complexes protéiques à l'origine du cancer afin d'identifier des cibles d'intérêt thérapeutique.

Un autre objectif majeur du consortium Nanotumor est d'identifier, de caractériser et de déterminer la structure atomique des complexes macromoléculaires impliqués dans l'oncogenèse, soit identifiés à la suite de la stratégie "top-down", soit déjà étudiés par les membres du consortium. Cela nous permettra, à court-moyen terme, d'initier nos efforts de recherche / design / criblage de médicaments. Des progrès technologiques majeurs permettent désormais d'identifier et caractériser ces larges complexes protéiques, leurs modifications post-traductionnelles, d'étudier leurs fonctions et déterminer leurs structures à une résolution atomique. La caractérisation biochimique et structurelle des altérations des complexes moléculaires à l'origine de cancers sera validée in vivo, leurs structures seront utilisées pour la conception de médicaments in silico et purifiée pour le criblage/l'optimisation in vitro.

Pour la coordination de NANOTUMOR, Jacky G. Goetz et Patrick Schultz

CONTACTEZ NOUS

Pour toute question relative au Consortium

Florent Colin, PhD
Chef de projet NANOTUMOR

Jacky G. Goetz - Tumor Biomechanics Lab
Centre de Recherche de Biomédecine de Strasbourg (CRBS)
INSERM - U1109
1, Rue Eugène Boeckel
67084, STRASBOURG
FRANCE

LogoINSERM.jpg
LogoTeam.jpg

Merci pour votre message !

EnTete_Aviesan_edited.jpg
Logo_PlanCancer.png
LogoNano.png

What is the NANOTUMOR Consortium?

Check out our review in Biology of the Cell Journal!

 

 

 

Open Position Goetz Lab:
You've a strong experience in Intravital Microscopy and Cancer Biology: check this!

Aviesan Federative Program (PFA) - Towards the Tumor Cell Atlas

A research program coordinated by Jacky G. Goetz (U1109 - Strasbourg) and Patrick Schultz (IGBMC - Illkirch)

This consortium is composed of 13 teams, working on four axes:

Axis 1: Molecular and structural description of multiprotein complexes initiating the oncogenic process - A. Hamiche & P. Schultz

Axis 2: Establishment of a subcellular morphological atlas during carcinogenesis: From organelles to molecular networks that drive cancer - K. Schauer & V. Hyenne

Axis 3: Biosensors, protein and chemical inhibitors - P. Martineau & M. Tramier

Axis 4In vivo integration of targetable candidate protein complexes in patient samples - J.-P. Borg & L. Camoin

NANOTUMOR
CANCER RESEARCH

To identify, characterize and determine the structure of multi-subunit
macromolecular complexes involved in cancer onset or development

To provide the first nanoscale map of cancer cells, at different steps of
the metastasis cascade, from tumor initiation to metastasis formation

ABOUT THE CONSORTIUM

The NANOTUMOR consortium is a French national multi-disciplinary workforce that aims to study cancer initiation and progression at molecular and subcellular level, by combining cutting-edge technologies and expertises in electron and fluorescence 2D-3D imaging, spatial transcriptomics and mass-spectrometry, micropatterning and microfluidics/biomechanics in various cellular and animal models, anti-intrabody/PPI engineering, and high-throughput screening. It will explore several children and adults’ cancers characteristics from the structure of underlying molecular complexes, spatio-temporal genes and proteins expression patterns, all the way up to subcellular organization, tissues morphology/rheology, and ultimately drug design and screening.

ParticipantV2_edited.jpg

It combines tools and expertise of 13 teams spread over 7 sites in FranceOur objectives are to establish stable links between consortium members, achieving key scientific results through the synergy of this collaboration, create and consolidate existing infrastructures, and have a fundraising / communication strategy to consolidate the consortium and attract potential new members.

CONTEXTUALIZATION

The cellular organization and organelle morphology reflect the integrated action of the expressed proteins directed by the genetic and epigenetic program of a given cell type. The cellular ultrastructure is affected by metabolic or pathologic changes and therefore informs us about the physio-pathological state of the cell. Deciphering the links between morphology and disease could therefore help to establish a diagnosis and/or determine the stage of a large number of human diseases and particularly in cancer cells (Rozenblatt-Rosen et al., 2020). The pathway between one – or a collection of – point mutation(s) identified in a patient to the actual cellular defect is often not straightforward since cells behave like multicomponent networks in which the alteration of one or several component(s) may have distal, antagonist or synergic effects which are difficult to predict. Thus, an adequate cure might not be to replace the exact function of the altered protein(s), but to remedy more general downstream effects that may be revealed by cell morphology. Consequently, an atlas of normal and pathologic cell morphology parameters may guide researchers studying an unknown disease towards altered pathways for which treatments exist.

One major goal of the Nanotumor Consortium is thus to provide the nanoscale maps of cancer cells, at different steps of the metastasis cascade, from tumor initiation to metastasis formation. We ambition to characterize tumor subcellular processes and cellular organelles at high resolution. Cells are occupied by numerous organelles which carry important cellular functions and are constantly remodeled to exchange molecules. In addition to be responsible for the viscoelastic behavior of any cell (Pu et al., 2016), these organelles are notably under extreme mechanical stress when tumors cells are subjected to high compression or tension forces which they need to cope with (van Bergeijk et al., 2016). A careful evaluation of the effect of mechanical forces and metastatic steps on cellular organelles is crucial and would allow to understand their effects on important organelle-carried cellular functions, in addition to identifying organelles and cytoskeletal elements that are responsible for rheological responses and differences. Furthermore, since organelles represent hierarchical structures of molecular networks, studying their alteration in cancer could provide a framework for network stratification. Key to this project is thus to shed light on the alterations of intracellular organelles during cancer progression and to use this higher order modules to delineate basic mechanisms driving tumorigenesis. We aim at establishing an unprecedented top-down strategy to stratify protein networks driving cancer and exploit key protein interactions and complexes for vulnerabilities of therapeutic relevance. We anticipate major insights into the underlying tumor biology allowing rational design of antitumor strategies.

Another major goal of the Nanotumor consortium is to identify, characterize and determine the atomic structure of multi-subunit macromolecular complexes involved in the cancer cascade, either identified as a result of the top-down strategy, or already studied by the members of the consortium. This will enable us, in the medium term, to initiate our drug research efforts. Major technological progresses now allow to identify major cellular nano-machines in terms of protein composition, post-translational modifications, functional dissection, and structure determination at close to atomic resolution. The biochemical and structural characterization of the cancer-induced and time-resolved alterations of molecular complexes will be validated in-vivo, their structure used for in-silico drug design (ie. PPI) and purified for in-vitro screening / optimization.

For the NANOTUMOR coordination, Jacky G. Goetz and Patrick Schultz

CONTACT US

For any question relative to the Consortium

Florent Colin, Ph.D.
NANOTUMOR Project Manager

Jacky G. Goetz - Tumor Biomechanics Lab
Centre de Recherche de Biomédecine de Strasbourg (CRBS)
INSERM - U1109
1, Rue Eugène Boeckel
67084, STRASBOURG
FRANCE

LogoTeam.jpg

Thanks for submitting!